Posted by: Kiran Vaidya | June 13, 2008

Pune to Kerala – A dream bike Trip

“Kerala”!! This is one word we have been using each time we meet. This is one trip all of us have been dreaming of since a long time. Moreover it now seems practical too :). Three factors that motivated this blog-

  1. I have lots of time in office. I spend almost 7 hours doing nothing..believe me its an art to enjoy this phase of life and not be bored at the same time.
  2. Before my 2nd trip to Kerala in mid-may I researched a lot about the road maps, places to visit etc. in Kerala.
  3. And Ofcourse the purchase of My dearest Ävi.

The first time we discussed about a road trip to Kerala was 2 years before. At that time I had a Splendour, Avadhut had his antique CD-100SS, Mukul was planning to buy a new bike and Anmol was as always stubborn for a bike trip and Manmit preferred a car/train trip. We had decided to go by Konkan railway and load our bikes in the train, roam the entire Kerala state on our bikes and then return back by train. But today things have changed, a 350cc Bullet, a 500cc Bullet and two Avengers (If Anmol is willing to bring his motorcycle) are more than willing to hit the national highways.


The plan is for 14 days in Kerala. Ofcourse it is just a rough plan and things are bound to change dynamically.

The basic outline for the plan is something like this.


Pune-Panaji-Mangalore-Munnar-Periyar-Alleppey-Trivandrum-Kanyakumari-Trivandrum-Kochi-Mangalore-Panaji-Pune

From To Activity Day Distance Total Distance
           
Pune Panaji Bike ride 1 461

461

Panaji Mangalore Bike ride 2 402 863
Mangalore Munnar Bike ride 3 505 1368
Around Munnar Around Munnar Explore Munnar 4 100 1468
Reserve Day/ Optional Day. If everything goes fine then no need to wait in Munnar this day. But if stopped total days needed will be 14. However a stopover is recommended Explore Munnar 5    
Munnar Periyar Bike ride/ Explore Periyar in evening 5 110 1578
Periyar Alleppey Explore Periyar till afternoon/ Bike Ride 6 155 1733
Alleppey Around Alleppey Lazing in the backwaters 7 25 1758
Alleppey Kanyakumari Bike ride 8 244 2002
Kanyakumari Trivandrum Bike ride 8 87 2089
Around Trivandrum Around Trivandrum Explore Trivandrum/ Reserve or Rest Day 9 50 2139
Trivandrum Kochi Bike ride/ Explore Kochi in evening 10 220 2359
Kochi Mangalore Bike ride 11 402 2761
Mangalore Panaji Bike ride 12 402 3163
Panaji Pune Bike ride 13 461 3624
           
           
    Total Distance: 3624    
    Misc 200    
    Total Max distance to be covered in 13 days 3824    


All distances are practical in a sense thinking of the highways traffic jams, weather conditions, offroading and its consequences ;). I know it is easily possible to complete 700kms in a day thereby saving a day and we might even do that.

Day1: Pune to Panaji: Distance covered is 461kms.

NH-4 Road Map


Everytime we goto Goa it is from the Kolhapur-Amboli-Sawantwadi route. However since we are interested in going to Panaji directly and not to Calangute, the route from Kolhapur to Panaji via Belgaum is the shortest.Till Belgaum we take NH-4 and then we turn towards Panaji to join NH-17.

Day2: Panaji to Mangalore: Disatance covered is 505kms.

NH-17 Road Map


It’s riding only on the NH-17. Seems to be a beautiful ride through coastal Karnataka.What I like most of such bike trips is not just visiting the places but the travel time too.

However there is a high probability that we will cross Karwar on the first day itself. Karwar is about 550kms from Pune.

Day3: Mangalore to Munnar: Disatance covered is 402kms.

Mangalore (Mangaluru) to Munnar Road Map


Till Calicut we still continue to ride on NH-17. From Calicut onwards we turn in the interiors of Kerala towards Idukki district for Munnar.

Now the real journey starts. Munnar will be the first place we will explore in Kerala. I hope the weather will be great since this is one of the most scenic hillstation in India.

The route is Mangalore – Kasargod – Kangangad – Neeleswaram – Payyannur – Thalipparambu – Cannanore – Thalassery Mahe – Vadakara – Quilandy – Calicut – Kottackal – Kuttippuram – Edappal – Trichur – Chalakudy – Angamalli – Kalady – Perumbavoor – Muvattupuzha – Kothamangalam – Adimalli – Munnar

Day4: Explore Munnar and complete rest. Our biker souls will need a much deserved rest and Munnar seems to be the most idyllic place for that. There are thousand of spots in Munnar and I hope we cover almost all the major ones. I am expecting just 100kms this day exploring around Munnar since rest is on top priority.

Day5: I recommend a rest/reserve day here. Or else one can also explore the unlimited beauty offered in God’s Own Country. For more info on Munnar click here http://wikitravel.org/en/Munnar

Day 5: Munnar to Thekaddy (Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary). Distance covered is 110kms.

Assuming that we don’t take a rest day because of some or the other reason then we head to Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary.This might turn out to be the best drive of the trip.Only 110kms, but the road takes you through dense forests, slopes cornenerd by waterfalls admist greenery. Since 110kms can be covered in just a few hours we get the whole of the evening for ourselves. We can shop in the bazaar and at the same time go for the boat ride in the evening in the Periyar lake. This is one of the most unique sanctuaries in India. Although the option of exploring the 777sq. km sanctuary by car /foot is always open; but still the most preferred means for exploring the sanctuary is the boat ride in the lake which is situated in the middle of the forest. The boat rides are open throughout the day, but the probability of spotting wild animals is the most in early morning or in the late evening.

Munnar to Thekkady Road Map


Day 6: Periyar to Alleppey. Distance covered is 155kms.

Most of the tourist stay in a town called Kumily which is situated just next to the sanctuary. There are hotels inside the forest too, but they are expensive.

Periyar is also famous for its spice gardens and it offers guided tours to these gardens..but I am sure we might not be interested in it. There are shops which sell the best quality spices in India. Also lots of shops offer souvenirs made by the tribals/ locals. We can spend the morning shopping and visiting the park and then in the late evening we can set off for the land of backwaters- Alleppey. 155 kms by the side of the backwaters.. Oh!! I am simply going to love it.

Periyar to Alleppey Road Map


Day 7: Around Alleppey. Distance covered is 25 kms.

One of the main purposes of this trip is that it should be a laid back trip. There should be innumberable moments when we do nothing. And the backwaters of Kerala are the perfect gift of nature to enjoy this very feeling. I think we should dedicate one day to master the art of doing nothing. There are customized tours as per the need, as per the budget to fit the requirements of every tourist. There are backwater rides from 1 hour to a 3 day package.. from an AC 5 star boat to the most simplistic house boat (my personal fav.). I am looking forward to eat lots of fresh water fish here J

Day 8: Alleppey – Trivandrum- Kanyakumari- Trivandrum. Distance covered is 333kms.

Road map from Alleppey to Kanyakumari via Trivandrum (part of NH-47)


After being rejuvenated (MS-Word corrected the spelling for me 😉 ) at Alleppey it is time to reach our destination- Kanyakumari. Actually Kanyakumari and Trivendrum did not feature in my original Kerala plan since I was of the opinion that going till the southernmost point is too much of time consuming. However, I realized (after Mukul’s disapproval) that going to Kanyakumari is the biggest kick for keep the trip going.. I mean just the thought of reaching the southernmost point of India gives so much of satisfaction.

Drive till Kanyakumari is on NH-47 via Trivendrum. Once we reach Kanyakumari and after watching the Vivekanand Rock Memorial and the sunset I don’t think there is much to do here. We would have travelled only 244kms that day. Since Trivendrum is just 87kms it is better to return back to Trivendrum.

Day 9: Explore Trivendrum. Around 50kms

All capital cities have their own charm and so does this one. Kovalam beach is the most famous here. Eat, drink and a day dedicated for complete rest. We can also use this as a reserve day.

Day10: Trivendrum to Cochin. Distance covered is 220kms.

The only city left in the itinerary is Cochin. For that matter every part, every district of Kerala is worth a visit, but then we have only 14 days with us. Cochin can also be skipped and we can start our return journey from Trivendrum itself. If we reach Cochin we get time to shop and most important is we get time to bid a final goodbye L. Refer map of NH-47.

Day11: Cochin to Mangalore. Distance covered is 447kms.

447kms ride of pure bliss. The entire road is through coastal Kerala entring southern Karnataka.

Day12: Mangalore to Panaji: Disatance covered is 505kms.Repeat of Day2

Day13: Panaji to Pune. Distance covered is 461 kms. Repeat of Day1.

Refer to NH-17 road map.

Here is a distance chart © of the major cities we will try to cover

  PU PN ML CO MN PE AL TR KA
PU

461

863

1221

PN

461

402

842

ML

863

402

447

505

       
CO

1221

842

447

130

191

64

222

309

MN

505

130

110

191

146

843

PE

191

110

155

253

340

AL

64

191

155

157

246

TR

222

146

253

157

100

KA

309

843

340

246

100

PU- Pune

PN- Panaji

ML- Mangalore

CO- Cochin

MN- Munnar

PE- Periyar (Thekaddy)

AL- Alleppey

TR- Trivendrum

KA- Kanyakumari

I hope our (Manmit, Anmol and ofcourse myself) leaves are approved for the 2 week Kerala trip. Worst.. I sincerely wish that at least Mukul and Avadhut make this trip and use this post as a reference J.

We are planning to go after the 10th day of Ganesh utsov..thats when the rains start to recede. Anant Chaturtithi(the 10th day of Ganeshutsov is on 14th Sept which is a Sunday.). I think 13-27 Sept seems to be the perfect time for the trip…


Note: In Kerala almost each town has two names, one in Mallu and the other in English (which the British Govt. kept since they couldn’t pronounce them)

Cities with the same name:

  1. Alleppey and Alappuzha
  2. Kochi and Cochin. Also Ernakulum is the also used. I dont exactly know which is used when…but all 3 are almost the same.
  3. Calicut and Kozhikode
  4. Trivandrum and Thiruvananthapuram
  5. Mangalore and Mangaluru (in Karnataka).
  6. Kanyakumari and Kanniyakumari
  7. Moreover Periyar is not a district. The wildlife sanctuary is called by that name. But it is in the Thekkadi district and in a small town called as Kumily. So basically when I refer to Periyar it is actually Thekkadi. Kumily in some 4 kms from Thekkadi.

 

Updated on 30-Mar-2014 after receiving an email from one of the finest tourism board of Asia- Kerala Tourism Board.

Why Kerala-

Well, just catch these 3 amazing pics of its backwaters… I know, i know you are tempted to take the next flight/train/bus/car and ofcourse motorcycle to KERALA

Print

Print

Print

 

Disclaimer: The information provided on this website can be used by anyone..however I will love to see a “Thank You” comment. The distances might not be accurate and the spellings of some towns in Kerala might be atrocious. I hope the CPI (M) don’t go on a strike or order a ban on my blog.

PS: This is till date my most reasearched blog.

PPS: Most of the images are taken from http://mapsofindia.com and edited in MS-Paint (I love the simplicity of this tool). I have also used http://wikimapia.org extensively in my research. Although the former is a paid site I don’t intend to use the maps for any commercial purpose and use is only for personal research. I have used the distance calculator of http://www.kerala.com/distance.htm. I thank this website too. However the distance chart is not copy-pasted from any website as you might have assumed. It is done in a liscenced copy of MS Excel. The Microsoft Office Picture Manager comes handy for cropping and resizing the images.

PPPS: A big thanks for the testing team, QA Team, Client and everyone involved in testing our application and reporting 1 bug/3 days which has given me so much of time. And a bigger thanks to our team for coding the application in such a manner that there are hardly any bugs 😉

 

Responses

  1. After my 6th attempt I am almost successful in aligning the post the way i wanted it.. sometimes ScribeFire, Word2007 (it has a blog editor) or the wordpress editors r too irritating..they dont follow the WYSIYG

  2. WOW!! Very detailed and graphic travelogue. I am sure it will help all the aspiring bikers. Your research and descriptions are crisp and lovely. Well done.
    Cheers;
    Manohar

  3. mad stuff man… from Bykeland to Greenland…

    one question – what do you do when u reach kerela :P, its has funny people

  4. Wow.. Great…Me too recently had a trip-took Skoda Octavia on self drive and drove about 1300 kms in 3 days…

    Nh17 passes through my home town near Udupi…Happy to know that you passed through it…

  5. So did the bike trip actually happen?? Great planning anyway 🙂

  6. @all: thnx a lot.. the bike trip is still in its planning phase and we r planning to go by mid-sept

    @shrinidhi: nice to see u on my blog 🙂 ..

  7. So did the bike trip actually happen? Great planning anyway 🙂

  8. hey kiran… grt stuff… crazy hard work put together… I sure might use this for a trip!

    I was doing a similar blog on a smaller place tho – konkan but I dont have the time to complete it
    😦

  9. thanks kiran.I got more information from you blog

  10. Good One,

    Inspired me to have the same one which you alll have……..

  11. Gr8 ……….. Man good research & detailing

  12. Hi,

    Can I have your contact number?

    I too planing for a Costal India Ride with my bike – RE [ThunderBird]

    Pune -> Mahabaleshwar -> RantnaGiri -> Adivale -> Rajapue -> Panji -> Karwar -> Mangalore -> Calicut -> Kanyakumari -> Rameshvarm -> Pondycheery -> Madras -> Bangalore -> Hubli -> PUNE

    -Himanshu

  13. Hi,

    Can I have your contact number?

    I too planing for a Costal India Ride with my bike – RE [ThunderBird]

    Pune -> Mahabaleshwar -> RantnaGiri -> Adivale -> Rajapur -> Panji -> Karwar -> Mangalore -> Calicut -> Kanyakumari -> Rameshvarm -> Pondycheery -> Madras -> Bangalore -> Hubli -> PUNE

    -Himanshu

  14. Get latest news about IPl,Live Cricket Score,match updates,schedules,teams,players,IPL results,news,updates,profiles,discussion Forum and upload ur favourite player pics and vedios in ur Gallery…

    TheIPLaction.com

    Ipl,Ipl T20,DLF Ipl,Indian Premier League ,Ipl Forum,Cricke,Latest Cricket News,Current Cricket Matches,Live Cricket Scores

  15. Excellent route chart , and travelogue information. Better than even the official tourism ones. Look forward to information on other routes as well. Akash sen

  16. hey i am planning my own trip on the similar route. i really appreciate the infos which u have shared. looks like its gonna be invaluable. i thank you from the bottom of my heart.

    let the trip begin.

  17. Thanks for sharing such an amazing trip!!!!!

  18. Hi Kiran,

    your blog was truly helpful, I am planning a trip from Manipal to Tekkady.

    Manipal>Udupi>Mulki>Mangalore>Kasaragod>Pallikara>Hosdurg>koppanisserri>Cherukunnu>Kannur>Thalassery>NandapuramRoad>Vadakara>Kozhikode>Malapuram>Kunnamkulam>Thrissur>Chalakudi>Angamalli>Kalady>Perumbavoor>Muvattupuzha>Kothamangalam>Adimalli>Munnar>Devikolam>Thekkadi.

    planning to go somewhere in December. havn’t gathered yet. I am looking for someone who can join me from Manipal.

  19. we 4(2 girls-r guys) finished our journey from jammu to kanyakumari in 12 days covering 8900 k.m. from 2nd october to 12 october, 2007. on bike.and that to with “mission Bharat : unity in diversity”

  20. Thanks for this Blog that I decided to do a Road trip from Delhi to Kanyakumari. I used your route for the leg after Pune. If you are interested to know or would want your community to know about my trip, I can send you the details.

    Sudhir

  21. hey kiran u have searched well abt this route…neways thanx it will b helpful fr me m also planning fr baroda to goa trip on my bike…n ur info will b helpful fr me…

  22. gr8 blog… gud info for ppl who want to adventure on bike :)… been to kerala.. but not on a bike.. hope it would have been thrilling ride thru.. ghats..

  23. Hey Dude! Good research work done. Would like to know if the trip was successful or still under planning stage. I am planning for the same somewhere in the month of March, 09 on my Unicorn.

  24. so that was the plan.. how was the outcome..?? can we have a travelogue please… me and a friend planning a similar trip.. pretty good research done by you here.. thx

    cheers

  25. good one……..

  26. Gr8…………………………….
    I thik so u r Analyast……….
    🙂
    just kidding …..
    but really…amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!

  27. see i am also going to my home town kochi in my bike apache rtr160. i would like to know that how to start my trip from pune to kochi regarding the easiest route to reach kochi,kerala.

  28. the whole information is really helpfull. thou not on my avenger. will be taking my car. so probably cud make it in 2 days with a stopova at mangalore as want to see that place.
    thanks buddy

  29. ambitious plan…though all planning no action.
    easy to dream tough to live the dream 🙂

  30. thanks a lot for the detailed info.
    i am also planning to go to kerala (payyanur) on my i10 in april.
    hope this works out.
    also can anyone give me detail on the kind of roads. like at which place the roads are bad and which area i should be more careful.

  31. oops.. forgot to add my name in the above post.
    my email id is: anoopvjn3@gmail.com

  32. Thank you very mutch I am planing to go to Kozhikode by car with my family. Thanks again for giving full datails of NH 4 and NH 17 it is going to help me a lot.

  33. Kiran,
    Need ur help, how can i reach u? I am planning to drive to Kumarakom, since u took a detour to Munnar I am a lil confused?
    Pls help.
    regards
    Shreyas

  34. Good Stuff Man
    It is detailed web-sites like these that really help, not the ad-cluttered misguiding photo-ridden mock-help pages…
    Nice Job

  35. thanks yaar
    we r also plannig for trip of kerala like this one
    by my loving apache
    good job

  36. kiran amazing work, i am impressed by the ground work you have done hope you did acheive your dream

  37. buzzzz!!!hey i almost fell asleep!!!! [:P]
    kidding yaar… gr8** blog.
    I salute your spirit of adventure!!

  38. THANK U SO MUCH FOR THE ROUTE INFO. U CAN CONTACT ME IF U WOULD LIKE TO SEE SOME OF MY PHOTOS ON PUNE-MP-UP -H.P.-RAJ. TRIP AS WELL AS DELHI-LEH TRIPS WHICH I MADE .NOW I AM SETTLED IN PUNE .MOB; 9890004433 . THANK U ONCE AGAIN .I HOPE I CAN MAKE THIS KERALA TRIP ONE DAY .I OWN A ” SCORPIO ” NOW I MOSTLY TRAVEL IN THIS .

  39. outstanding . i would go on record that i have used your trip details as reference material for my trip to pune from calicut . thanxx once once again

  40. Hey Bro,

    U helped me out with this article quite a lot, I am planning to go on this tripby my bike to Goa from Cochin in the first week of oct 09.

    Would love if you could share some places and things to be done to checked out in Goa.
    If its possible pls give me your no

    • call me @ +91-9881125670

      Thanks & Regards, Kiran Vaidya

  41. Hi guys,

    We are planning to go to Goa from through NH17. Pune-Mulshi-Thamani ghat-NH17-chiplun-sawantwadi-goa. Can sombody help me out with the road details like condition, place to stay at night with reasonable rates. we are 10 of them and are planning to start here on 14th Aug by around 5.00pm & stay some were on NH17 & start early to reach Goa. pl. suggest some place to stay with contach details

  42. HI Kiran,
    two days back i was thinking of going to kerala by my car. today i was going through road mao to kerala i saw your blog. your study is detailed one with distances. i want ask all weather anybody has gone to kerala by car and what are their experances, about lodging and boarding in kerala. pl reply.

  43. keli ka he trip?

  44. hai man i am planning 4 a trip from ahemed nagar (pune) to kerala.i was searching for the road map and suddenly and fortunately found ur blog….great man..i am from kerala…thank u very much for ur inspiring description,,,,i will be riding an yamaha rd350 ht from ahemad nagar….

  45. hey thank u vry i was planning a trip 2 kerla on da same route n your research has been vry help ful its gr8 n really gonna help…..

    Thank U & Regards

  46. AWESOME!!!! I have not seen such a detailed informative blog till date on any route. Thanks a ton for sharing this.

  47. Hi, Have you done your trip, i also doned the long drive trip, how was the experince

  48. hi have like u r trip we r going kerla next year 2010 jan

  49. good informative atricle

  50. Gr8 Trip and very nice planning. I am very much impressed. Thank man for writing such articals.

  51. Leading tour operator in india provides Travel and Tour with adevnture in rajasthan, madhya pradesh wild life safari, river rafting and many more………….
    India Tour, Rajasthan Tourism, Rajasthan Tours, Rajasthan Tours Packages, Rajasthan

    Travel,Rajasthan Tours and Travels, Golden Triangle Tour,Goa Tours, Rajasthan Tourism,

    Rajasthan Tours, Rajasthan Tours Packages, Rajasthan Travel, Golden Triangle Tour,

    Rajasthan Wildlife Tours, Rajasthan Desert Safari Tour, Rajasthan Puskar Fair Tour India,

    Jaipur Tour Packages, Delhi Agara Jaipur Tour.

    Thanks
    india Darshan travel
    http://www.erajasthantourism.com/golden-triangle-tours/

  52. Great info.Thanks a lot.

  53. hey nice planning…very nice of you to put op this information for others referrence…

  54. Hi,

    Are there any pics, picture album of the trip? I am curious to know views along the roads

    Thanks

    Ravya

  55. gr 8 info buddy,,,,thanx,,,will plan a similar thing

  56. A good planning and a successfull trip to the God’s own country.Planning for a trip to Calicut by Car.The route must be very helpfull for me

  57. What about the road conditions.The route from Pune to Panaji to Magalore will be the shortest?.Please reply

  58. Did this tour actually happen? The plan seems a bit too hectic to me. I feel 400 KM is the ideal on most days if you are traveling continuously day after day.

    Besides, my experience says that bike trips are best unplanned. No missed schedules, not irritation. Just go with the flow.

  59. Any update on road conditions and hotels (to stay enroute). I am planning a road trip from Pune to Calicut in my Scorpio.

  60. Great plan i think it is best with bikes. Nice post in your blog thanks for sharing this.

  61. Hey Mister, nice planning and alongside ur patience

  62. I like the way you have described the bike-able city of Pune and beyond. Great Article !

  63. nice …………..

  64. Hey guys I know your seeking to find the places where you can enjoy in your way. Here I would like to tell you one thing that Kerala is a one the most famous city in India. There are various things like – Kerala Cycling, Walking Kerala in the green places and so on.

  65. Great stuff bro… Am planning mumbai kerala bike trip and will follow ur blog as the bible….the simplicity with which you have explained…i can actually see the route via ur writing…keep it up

    • I am planning Mumbai-Kerela bike trip and back from 20th to 4th Jan. Dont have company though.. Incase anyone has similar plans, i’ll be glad to have company .. 🙂
      -Girl rider

      • *20th Dec 2014 to 4th Jan 2015

  66. Nice ……………..I have also plan with my private car

  67. You share interesting things here. I think that your website can go viral easily, but you must give it initial boost
    and i know how to do it, just search in google (with quotes) for – “mundillo traffic increase make your website go viral”

  68. i have been for planning a solo to shiridi in december…..thanks bro………

  69. Wow..it’s great to know people like you keep alive the riding spirit. I’ve been planning to explore cochin tourism for a while now. It would be nice, if you can share information about cochin 🙂

  70. Thanks a ton for sharing the information… Yes indeed it will be definitely handy for us while planning the route for our ride which we are planning Dec this year….thanks once again

  71. Informative Article. please visit Demyto.com this website provides online Car and Motorcycle servicing, Accessories and Spare parts.
    Save 35% on your car and motorcycle after sales services.Pune, India

  72. Fantastic….. I’m off to Kerala 😉😉👍🏽

  73. for Mumbai to kerala by car its very intresting and you will enjoy all day before reaching kerala.


Leave a Reply

Categories

