Posted by: Kiran Vaidya | October 14, 2007

Between Lonavala and Pune

I was returning from my weekend trip to Thane and was all alone in the bus. My head phone broke and was left with no other option but to converse with my mind(which I didn’t want to).

Suddenly a thought came to my mind and I scripted this poem and stored it in my Nokia 1600. I think traveling single inspires me to write a poem. The last time I wrote one was while returning from Goa in Jan. I had already posted it on this blog over here.

I know Manmit and gang is going to hate me for this but still I am gonna post it 😉

 

Where is this highway taking me?

Darkness behind me,

And a dim light ahead.

 

Speeding vehicles waiting for no one,

Telling me life has to move on.

 

I hasten to reach my destination,

But my bus halts at an undecided station.

 

An impatient and desperate self waits in desperation,

As the passing time makes me realize,

That sometimes someone else also has control over my life.

 

The journey resumes after some time,

And I am again eager to reach in time,

Although my heart whispers that I have lost the race with time.

 

The travel finally comes to an end,

But by now I understand that their was neither any winner,

Nor any loser,

So I board the next bus and set off to another adventure.

 

-Kiran Vaidya

Responses

  1. Nice. Have you tried blank verse? I love the freedom when you don’t have to think of words to rhyme.

  2. I loved the lines : “An impatient and desperate self waits in desperation,

    As the passing time makes me realize,

    That sometimes someone else also has control over my life.

    Really well thought of 🙂

    U shud travel alone more often 😉

  3. good one…simple…

  4. apan poetry-poetry kheluya? 😉

  5. busy ka… kaahi lehala naahis lately

  6. good one…simple…


Leave a Reply

Categories

